Design, art, style, culture, food and brilliant stupidity.
The London Underground is the world’s oldest and longest serving underground system. 2013 marks 150 years since it all began.
The Tube has seen some of the biggest changes in society during its service. Ever-evolving demands have required a range of alternations to the Tube system, resulting in a wide range of disused stations.
Off The Map allows people to discover the stories behind the Underground’s forgotten stations. Ten original artworks bring to life their history and their secrets. These artworks are now available to the public for the first time and will remain on sale throughout the 150th Anniversary of the Tube.
Designed by Thomas Wood
Brompton Road (1906 – 1934)
Following the relocation of the Knightbridge station entrance it was deemed uneconomical to keep Brompton Road station open. Operation ceased on 29th July 1934.
St Mary’s (1904 – 1934)
Prior to WWII, St Mary’s station closed when Aldgate East station was relocated. The distance between the two became much smaller, thus making St Mary’s obsolete.
King William Street (1890 – 1900)
This station was the original northbound terminus for the world’s first electric underground railway. The line had two narrow tunnels with steep gradients and tight corners.